About Us

Located in the southwestern part of South Carolina, the Lower Savannah Council of Governments (LSCOG) is a regional organization which coordinates cooperative development of the region as a whole among local governments. Download the one-page information sheet to learn more.

The Lower Savannah Region consists of six counties - Aiken, Allendale, Bamberg, Barnwell, Calhoun and Orangeburg Counties - comprising a total area of 3,981 square miles and containing a population of 316,802 in 2010. There are 45 municipalities within the region.

Click to Meet Our Team!

Mission Statement

It is the mission of the Lower Savannah Council of Governments to work with and on behalf of local governments to develop, implement and administer plans, programs and projects in cooperation with local, state and national stakeholders, to improve the quality of life for residents in the Lower Savannah Region.

Vision Statement 

Our vision is to be a nationally recognized, comprehensive resource that facilitates regional solutions through innovative and cooperative partnerships.

Value Statement

The Lower Savannah Council of Governments’ Board, Management and Staff are committed to the highest ethical standards of professional service, leadership and integrity. They strive together in service to the region to utilize problem solving techniques and develop a creative outlook for the future. The success of the organization depends on the talents, skills, and expertise of its board and staff working as a team. Lower Savannah Council of Governments’ understands the importance of its mission and vision and values the trust placed in this organization by the people it serves.